Training For the Fight

My father is coming to visit in a month. Our guests stay in our travel trailer when they visit us. Since the visit will take place in early November in our mountainous region I needed to get the propane furnace repaired. It has been making a screeching sound that sounded very much like a ball bearing in the fan or motor that was about fried.

So my son and I grabbed my tools bags and went to investigate. The furnace had an exterior access door and also an access door under the fridge. It was tight quarters and I don’t have a lot of experience with furnaces. I have fixed a lot of things and built many things in my life, but other than tinkering a little on an old oil furnace we had at a previous home my experience is pretty limited outside of wood furnaces.

It seemed every screw and allen nut was placed in just in the right spot to require me to either cut my hand & shed blood on the sheet metal. Or the placement of the screws needed an extra long or stubby tool. My son was constantly running and fetching new tools from the shop during the process. It took a couple hours to get the furnace out and disassembled. After inspection it looks like the motor had become sloppy, either in and of itself or it had become loose in the clamp that held it in place and with that little bit of slop the squirrel cage fan had begun to rub on some screws in it’s enclosure. First, making an awful racket and then burning out the motor.

Fighting that furnace is similar to a fight I have been having in my spiritual life. You see my Father is coming and things are not working right down here. The task of getting things ready and fixing things has been given to me as the man of the household. And while I gain experience every year, sometimes there are battles and fights I have very little experience with. Battles and fights that I would love help, encouragement and shared knowledge on.

Thankfully, depending on the battle I have guys I can call for help. For example, when my truck breaks down I can usually call my dad who has decades of experience of working on them. His knowledge asks the right questions, gets me started in the right direction and sometimes saves me a ton of frustration and worry.

But sometimes I don’t have someone available. Either I don’t have someone who knows this particular battle or in many cases they are unavailable. Sadly, many battles tougher than RV furnaces I have fought with little guidance, encouragement or help.

There are many everyday battles a man fights for in his faith, his marriage, his family and his work. Battles I have fought that took too long, veered in too many wrong turns, shed too much blood simply because I did not the correct knowledge or the correct tools. And unlike an RV furnace in which the damage was a new $50 motor the stakes were much higher in marriage, and fatherhood, work and faith.

So that is why you find me here, typing out this message. Hoping to offer a place of knowledge and tools rooted in the Word of God to offer men who have realized the stakes and want to fight the good fight of faith. A place that affirms Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior. A place that realizes that the church, society and in many of our cases our own family has denied the truths found in the Bible, forsaken them and left us alone to fight the battles in tight quarters without the knowledge or tools to do so.

We find ourselves in a time not unlike the times of Amos. A time when God’s eternal truth’s have been forgotten.
“Behold, days are coming, declares the Lord God, “When I will send a famine on the land, Not a famine of bread or a thirst for water, But rather for hearing the words of the Lord. People will stagger from sea to sea And from the north even to the east; They will go to and fro to seek the word of the Lord, But they will not find it (Amos 8:11,12)”

That will be our goal here. To point men to the Lord and His plan for their lives. To feed and water the staggering who are famined for Bread and Water. To try and offer a respite where He can be found. If you find yourself staggering, bloodied or without the right tool I hope in the coming days this sight will be of help to you.

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in me Me will never thirst.” John 6:35

One thought on “Training For the Fight

Leave a Reply

